Parry Sound Friendship Centre

The Parry Sound Friendship Centre is one of the "original six" Friendship Centres in Ontario, founded in 1966 and incorporated on February 2, 1967. The centre was also one of the founding members of the Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (OFIFC) which was incorporated in 1971. The centre’s founding directors are James Wilson, James C. Ludford, Irving H. Bansfield, Elizabeth Green, Dora Pegahmagabow, Duncan Pegahmagabow, Verna George, Joyce Tabobondung, Florence King, Barbara Contin, Leslie Tabobondung, Allan King, Flora Tabobondung, Paul Tabobondung and Brenda Judge.  The centre was founded by Aboriginal leaders, community leaders and members of the community.  All buildings, facilities and equipment are owned by the centre.

Share this: